13.5. 多尺度目标检测
Open the notebook in Colab
Open the notebook in Colab
Open the notebook in Colab
Open the notebook in SageMaker Studio Lab

13.4节中,我们以输入图像的每个像素为中心,生成了多个锚框。 基本而言,这些锚框代表了图像不同区域的样本。 然而,如果为每个像素都生成的锚框,我们最终可能会得到太多需要计算的锚框。 想象一个\(561 \times 728\)的输入图像,如果以每个像素为中心生成五个形状不同的锚框,就需要在图像上标记和预测超过200万个锚框(\(561 \times 728 \times 5\))。

13.5.1. 多尺度锚框

你可能会意识到,减少图像上的锚框数量并不困难。 比如,我们可以在输入图像中均匀采样一小部分像素,并以它们为中心生成锚框。 此外,在不同尺度下,我们可以生成不同数量和不同大小的锚框。 直观地说,比起较大的目标,较小的目标在图像上出现的可能性更多样。 例如,\(1 \times 1\)\(1 \times 2\)\(2 \times 2\)的目标可以分别以4、2和1种可能的方式出现在\(2 \times 2\)图像上。 因此,当使用较小的锚框检测较小的物体时,我们可以采样更多的区域,而对于较大的物体,我们可以采样较少的区域。

为了演示如何在多个尺度下生成锚框,让我们先读取一张图像。 它的高度和宽度分别为561和728像素。

%matplotlib inline
from mxnet import image, np, npx
from d2l import mxnet as d2l

npx.set_np()

img = image.imread('../img/catdog.jpg')
h, w = img.shape[:2]
h, w
(561, 728)
%matplotlib inline
import torch
from d2l import torch as d2l

img = d2l.plt.imread('../img/catdog.jpg')
h, w = img.shape[:2]
h, w
(561, 728)

回想一下,在 6.2节中,我们将卷积图层的二维数组输出称为特征图。 通过定义特征图的形状,我们可以确定任何图像上均匀采样锚框的中心。

display_anchors函数定义如下。 我们在特征图(fmap)上生成锚框(anchors),每个单位(像素)作为锚框的中心。 由于锚框中的\((x, y)\)轴坐标值(anchors)已经被除以特征图(fmap)的宽度和高度,因此这些值介于0和1之间,表示特征图中锚框的相对位置。

由于锚框(anchors)的中心分布于特征图(fmap)上的所有单位,因此这些中心必须根据其相对空间位置在任何输入图像上均匀分布。 更具体地说,给定特征图的宽度和高度fmap_wfmap_h,以下函数将均匀地对任何输入图像中fmap_h行和fmap_w列中的像素进行采样。 以这些均匀采样的像素为中心,将会生成大小为s(假设列表s的长度为1)且宽高比(ratios)不同的锚框。

def display_anchors(fmap_w, fmap_h, s):
    d2l.set_figsize()
    # 前两个维度上的值不影响输出
    fmap = np.zeros((1, 10, fmap_h, fmap_w))
    anchors = npx.multibox_prior(fmap, sizes=s, ratios=[1, 2, 0.5])
    bbox_scale = np.array((w, h, w, h))
    d2l.show_bboxes(d2l.plt.imshow(img.asnumpy()).axes,
                    anchors[0] * bbox_scale)
def display_anchors(fmap_w, fmap_h, s):
    d2l.set_figsize()
    # 前两个维度上的值不影响输出
    fmap = torch.zeros((1, 10, fmap_h, fmap_w))
    anchors = d2l.multibox_prior(fmap, sizes=s, ratios=[1, 2, 0.5])
    bbox_scale = torch.tensor((w, h, w, h))
    d2l.show_bboxes(d2l.plt.imshow(img).axes,
                    anchors[0] * bbox_scale)

首先,让我们考虑探测小目标。 为了在显示时更容易分辨,在这里具有不同中心的锚框不会重叠: 锚框的尺度设置为0.15,特征图的高度和宽度设置为4。 我们可以看到,图像上4行和4列的锚框的中心是均匀分布的。

display_anchors(fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4, s=[0.15])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_21_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4, s=[0.15])
/home/d2l-worker/miniconda3/envs/d2l-zh-release-1/lib/python3.8/site-packages/torch/functional.py:568: UserWarning: torch.meshgrid: in an upcoming release, it will be required to pass the indexing argument. (Triggered internally at  ../aten/src/ATen/native/TensorShape.cpp:2228.)
  return _VF.meshgrid(tensors, **kwargs)  # type: ignore[attr-defined]
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_24_1.svg

然后,我们将特征图的高度和宽度减小一半,然后使用较大的锚框来检测较大的目标。 当尺度设置为0.4时,一些锚框将彼此重叠。

display_anchors(fmap_w=2, fmap_h=2, s=[0.4])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_30_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=2, fmap_h=2, s=[0.4])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_33_0.svg

最后,我们进一步将特征图的高度和宽度减小一半,然后将锚框的尺度增加到0.8。 此时,锚框的中心即是图像的中心。

display_anchors(fmap_w=1, fmap_h=1, s=[0.8])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_39_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=1, fmap_h=1, s=[0.8])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_42_0.svg

13.5.2. 多尺度检测

既然我们已经生成了多尺度的锚框,我们就将使用它们来检测不同尺度下各种大小的目标。 下面,我们介绍一种基于CNN的多尺度目标检测方法,将在 13.7节中实现。

在某种规模上,假设我们有\(c\)张形状为\(h \times w\)的特征图。 使用 13.5.1节中的方法,我们生成了\(hw\)组锚框,其中每组都有\(a\)个中心相同的锚框。 例如,在 13.5.1节实验的第一个尺度上,给定10个(通道数量)\(4 \times 4\)的特征图,我们生成了16组锚框,每组包含3个中心相同的锚框。 接下来,每个锚框都根据真实值边界框来标记了类和偏移量。 在当前尺度下,目标检测模型需要预测输入图像上\(hw\)组锚框类别和偏移量,其中不同组锚框具有不同的中心。

假设此处的\(c\)张特征图是CNN基于输入图像的正向传播算法获得的中间输出。 既然每张特征图上都有\(hw\)个不同的空间位置,那么相同空间位置可以看作含有\(c\)个单元。 根据 6.2节中对感受野的定义,特征图在相同空间位置的\(c\)个单元在输入图像上的感受野相同: 它们表征了同一感受野内的输入图像信息。 因此,我们可以将特征图在同一空间位置的\(c\)个单元变换为使用此空间位置生成的\(a\)个锚框类别和偏移量。 本质上,我们用输入图像在某个感受野区域内的信息,来预测输入图像上与该区域位置相近的锚框类别和偏移量。

当不同层的特征图在输入图像上分别拥有不同大小的感受野时,它们可以用于检测不同大小的目标。 例如,我们可以设计一个神经网络,其中靠近输出层的特征图单元具有更宽的感受野,这样它们就可以从输入图像中检测到较大的目标。

简言之,我们可以利用深层神经网络在多个层次上对图像进行分层表示,从而实现多尺度目标检测。 在 13.7节,我们将通过一个具体的例子来说明它是如何工作的。

13.5.3. 小结

  • 在多个尺度下,我们可以生成不同尺寸的锚框来检测不同尺寸的目标。

  • 通过定义特征图的形状,我们可以决定任何图像上均匀采样的锚框的中心。

  • 我们使用输入图像在某个感受野区域内的信息,来预测输入图像上与该区域位置相近的锚框类别和偏移量。

  • 我们可以通过深入学习,在多个层次上的图像分层表示进行多尺度目标检测。

13.5.4. 练习

  1. 根据我们在 7.1节中的讨论,深度神经网络学习图像特征级别抽象层次,随网络深度的增加而升级。在多尺度目标检测中,不同尺度的特征映射是否对应于不同的抽象层次?为什么?

  2. 13.5.1节中的实验里的第一个尺度(fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4)下,生成可能重叠的均匀分布的锚框。

  3. 给定形状为\(1 \times c \times h \times w\)的特征图变量,其中\(c\)\(h\)\(w\)分别是特征图的通道数、高度和宽度。你怎样才能将这个变量转换为锚框类别和偏移量?输出的形状是什么?

13.5. Multiscale Object Detection
Open the notebook in Colab
Open the notebook in Colab
Open the notebook in Colab

In Section 13.4, we generated multiple anchor boxes centered on each pixel of an input image. Essentially these anchor boxes represent samples of different regions of the image. However, we may end up with too many anchor boxes to compute if they are generated for every pixel. Think of a \(561 \times 728\) input image. If five anchor boxes with varying shapes are generated for each pixel as their center, over two million anchor boxes (\(561 \times 728 \times 5\)) need to be labeled and predicted on the image.

13.5.1. Multiscale Anchor Boxes

You may realize that it is not difficult to reduce anchor boxes on an image. For instance, we can just uniformly sample a small portion of pixels from the input image to generate anchor boxes centered on them. In addition, at different scales we can generate different numbers of anchor boxes of different sizes. Intuitively, smaller objects are more likely to appear on an image than larger ones. As an example, \(1 \times 1\), \(1 \times 2\), and \(2 \times 2\) objects can appear on a \(2 \times 2\) image in 4, 2, and 1 possible ways, respectively. Therefore, when using smaller anchor boxes to detect smaller objects, we can sample more regions, while for larger objects we can sample fewer regions.

To demonstrate how to generate anchor boxes at multiple scales, let us read an image. Its height and width are 561 and 728 pixels, respectively.

%matplotlib inline
from mxnet import image, np, npx
from d2l import mxnet as d2l

npx.set_np()

img = image.imread('../img/catdog.jpg')
h, w = img.shape[:2]
h, w
(561, 728)
%matplotlib inline
import torch
from d2l import torch as d2l

img = d2l.plt.imread('../img/catdog.jpg')
h, w = img.shape[:2]
h, w
(561, 728)

Recall that in Section 6.2 we call a two-dimensional array output of a convolutional layer a feature map. By defining the feature map shape, we can determine centers of uniformly sampled anchor boxes on any image.

The display_anchors function is defined below. We generate anchor boxes (anchors) on the feature map (fmap) with each unit (pixel) as the anchor box center. Since the \((x, y)\)-axis coordinate values in the anchor boxes (anchors) have been divided by the width and height of the feature map (fmap), these values are between 0 and 1, which indicate the relative positions of anchor boxes in the feature map.

Since centers of the anchor boxes (anchors) are spread over all units on the feature map (fmap), these centers must be uniformly distributed on any input image in terms of their relative spatial positions. More concretely, given the width and height of the feature map fmap_w and fmap_h, respectively, the following function will uniformly sample pixels in fmap_h rows and fmap_w columns on any input image. Centered on these uniformly sampled pixels, anchor boxes of scale s (assuming the length of the list s is 1) and different aspect ratios (ratios) will be generated.

def display_anchors(fmap_w, fmap_h, s):
    d2l.set_figsize()
    # Values on the first two dimensions do not affect the output
    fmap = np.zeros((1, 10, fmap_h, fmap_w))
    anchors = npx.multibox_prior(fmap, sizes=s, ratios=[1, 2, 0.5])
    bbox_scale = np.array((w, h, w, h))
    d2l.show_bboxes(
        d2l.plt.imshow(img.asnumpy()).axes, anchors[0] * bbox_scale)
def display_anchors(fmap_w, fmap_h, s):
    d2l.set_figsize()
    # Values on the first two dimensions do not affect the output
    fmap = torch.zeros((1, 10, fmap_h, fmap_w))
    anchors = d2l.multibox_prior(fmap, sizes=s, ratios=[1, 2, 0.5])
    bbox_scale = torch.tensor((w, h, w, h))
    d2l.show_bboxes(d2l.plt.imshow(img).axes, anchors[0] * bbox_scale)

First, let us consider detection of small objects. In order to make it easier to distinguish when displayed, the anchor boxes with different centers here do not overlap: the anchor box scale is set to 0.15 and the height and width of the feature map are set to 4. We can see that the centers of the anchor boxes in 4 rows and 4 columns on the image are uniformly distributed.

display_anchors(fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4, s=[0.15])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_21_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4, s=[0.15])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_24_0.svg

We move on to reduce the height and width of the feature map by half and use larger anchor boxes to detect larger objects. When the scale is set to 0.4, some anchor boxes will overlap with each other.

display_anchors(fmap_w=2, fmap_h=2, s=[0.4])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_30_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=2, fmap_h=2, s=[0.4])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_33_0.svg

Finally, we further reduce the height and width of the feature map by half and increase the anchor box scale to 0.8. Now the center of the anchor box is the center of the image.

display_anchors(fmap_w=1, fmap_h=1, s=[0.8])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_39_0.svg
display_anchors(fmap_w=1, fmap_h=1, s=[0.8])
../_images/output_multiscale-object-detection_ad7147_42_0.svg

13.5.2. Multiscale Detection

Since we have generated multiscale anchor boxes, we will use them to detect objects of various sizes at different scales. In the following we introduce a CNN-based multiscale object detection method that we will implement in Section 13.7.

At some scale, say that we have \(c\) feature maps of shape \(h \times w\). Using the method in Section 13.5.1, we generate \(hw\) sets of anchor boxes, where each set has \(a\) anchor boxes with the same center. For example, at the first scale in the experiments in Section 13.5.1, given ten (number of channels) \(4 \times 4\) feature maps, we generated 16 sets of anchor boxes, where each set contains 3 anchor boxes with the same center. Next, each anchor box is labeled with the class and offset based on ground-truth bounding boxes. At the current scale, the object detection model needs to predict the classes and offsets of \(hw\) sets of anchor boxes on the input image, where different sets have different centers.

Assume that the \(c\) feature maps here are the intermediate outputs obtained by the CNN forward propagation based on the input image. Since there are \(hw\) different spatial positions on each feature map, the same spatial position can be thought of as having \(c\) units. According to the definition of receptive field in Section 6.2, these \(c\) units at the same spatial position of the feature maps have the same receptive field on the input image: they represent the input image information in the same receptive field. Therefore, we can transform the \(c\) units of the feature maps at the same spatial position into the classes and offsets of the \(a\) anchor boxes generated using this spatial position. In essence, we use the information of the input image in a certain receptive field to predict the classes and offsets of the anchor boxes that are close to that receptive field on the input image.

When the feature maps at different layers have varying-size receptive fields on the input image, they can be used to detect objects of different sizes. For example, we can design a neural network where units of feature maps that are closer to the output layer have wider receptive fields, so they can detect larger objects from the input image.

In a nutshell, we can leverage layerwise representations of images at multiple levels by deep neural networks for multiscale object detection. We will show how this works through a concrete example in Section 13.7.

13.5.3. Summary

  • At multiple scales, we can generate anchor boxes with different sizes to detect objects with different sizes.

  • By defining the shape of feature maps, we can determine centers of uniformly sampled anchor boxes on any image.

  • We use the information of the input image in a certain receptive field to predict the classes and offsets of the anchor boxes that are close to that receptive field on the input image.

  • Through deep learning, we can leverage its layerwise representations of images at multiple levels for multiscale object detection.

13.5.4. Exercises

  1. According to our discussions in Section 7.1, deep neural networks learn hierarchical features with increasing levels of abstraction for images. In multiscale object detection, do feature maps at different scales correspond to different levels of abstraction? Why or why not?

  2. At the first scale (fmap_w=4, fmap_h=4) in the experiments in Section 13.5.1, generate uniformly distributed anchor boxes that may overlap.

  3. Given a feature map variable with shape \(1 \times c \times h \times w\), where \(c\), \(h\), and \(w\) are the number of channels, height, and width of the feature maps, respectively. How can you transform this variable into the classes and offsets of anchor boxes? What is the shape of the output?