《动手学深度学习》
Table Of Contents
《动手学深度学习》
Table Of Contents

9.6. 目标检测数据集(皮卡丘)

在目标检测领域并没有类似MNIST或Fashion-MNIST那样的小数据集。为了快速测试模型,我们合成了一个小的数据集。我们首先使用一个开源的皮卡丘3D模型生成了1000张不同角度和大小的皮卡丘图像。然后我们收集了一系列背景图像,并在每张图的随机位置放置一张随机的皮卡丘图像。我们使用MXNet提供的im2rec工具将图像转换成二进制的RecordIO格式 [1]。该格式既可以降低数据集在磁盘上的存储开销,又能提高读取效率。如果想了解更多的图像读取方法,可以查阅GluonCV工具包的文档 [2]。

9.6.1. 下载数据集

RecordIO格式的皮卡丘数据集可以直接在网上下载。下载数据集的操作定义在_download_pikachu函数中。

In [1]:
%matplotlib inline
import d2lzh as d2l
from mxnet import gluon, image
from mxnet.gluon import utils as gutils
import os

def _download_pikachu(data_dir):
    root_url = ('https://apache-mxnet.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/'
                'gluon/dataset/pikachu/')
    dataset = {'train.rec': 'e6bcb6ffba1ac04ff8a9b1115e650af56ee969c8',
               'train.idx': 'dcf7318b2602c06428b9988470c731621716c393',
               'val.rec': 'd6c33f799b4d058e82f2cb5bd9a976f69d72d520'}
    for k, v in dataset.items():
        gutils.download(root_url + k, os.path.join(data_dir, k), sha1_hash=v)

9.6.2. 读取数据集

我们通过创建ImageDetIter实例来读取目标检测数据集。其中名称里的“Det”指的是Detection(检测)。我们将以随机顺序读取训练数据集。由于数据集的格式为RecordIO,我们需要提供图像索引文件train.idx以随机读取小批量。此外,对于训练集中的每张图像,我们将采用随机裁剪,并要求裁剪出的图像至少覆盖每个目标95%的区域。由于裁剪是随机的,这个要求不一定总被满足。我们设定最多尝试200次随机裁剪:如果都不符合要求则不裁剪图像。为保证输出结果的确定性,我们不随机裁剪测试数据集中的图像。我们也无须按随机顺序读取测试数据集。

In [2]:
# 本函数已保存在d2lzh包中方便以后使用
def load_data_pikachu(batch_size, edge_size=256):  # edge_size:输出图像的宽和高
    data_dir = '../data/pikachu'
    _download_pikachu(data_dir)
    train_iter = image.ImageDetIter(
        path_imgrec=os.path.join(data_dir, 'train.rec'),
        path_imgidx=os.path.join(data_dir, 'train.idx'),
        batch_size=batch_size,
        data_shape=(3, edge_size, edge_size),  # 输出图像的形状
        shuffle=True,  # 以随机顺序读取数据集
        rand_crop=1,  # 随机裁剪的概率为1
        min_object_covered=0.95, max_attempts=200)
    val_iter = image.ImageDetIter(
        path_imgrec=os.path.join(data_dir, 'val.rec'), batch_size=batch_size,
        data_shape=(3, edge_size, edge_size), shuffle=False)
    return train_iter, val_iter

下面我们读取一个小批量并打印图像和标签的形状。图像的形状和之前实验中的一样,依然是(批量大小, 通道数, 高, 宽)。而标签的形状则是(批量大小, \(m\), 5),其中\(m\)等于数据集中单个图像最多含有的边界框个数。小批量计算虽然高效,但它要求每张图像含有相同数量的边界框,以便放在同一个批量中。由于每张图像含有的边界框个数可能不同,我们为边界框个数小于\(m\)的图像填充非法边界框,直到每张图像均含有\(m\)个边界框。这样,我们就可以每次读取小批量的图像了。图像中每个边界框的标签由长度为5的数组表示。数组中第一个元素是边界框所含目标的类别。当值为-1时,该边界框为填充用的非法边界框。数组的剩余4个元素分别表示边界框左上角的\(x\)\(y\)轴坐标以及右下角的\(x\)\(y\)轴坐标(值域在0到1之间)。这里的皮卡丘数据集中每个图像只有一个边界框,因此\(m=1\)

In [3]:
batch_size, edge_size = 32, 256
train_iter, _ = load_data_pikachu(batch_size, edge_size)
batch = train_iter.next()
batch.data[0].shape, batch.label[0].shape
Out[3]:
((32, 3, 256, 256), (32, 1, 5))

9.6.3. 图示数据

我们画出10张图像和它们中的边界框。可以看到,皮卡丘的角度、大小和位置在每张图像中都不一样。当然,这是一个简单的人工数据集。实际中的数据通常会复杂得多。

In [4]:
imgs = (batch.data[0][0:10].transpose((0, 2, 3, 1))) / 255
axes = d2l.show_images(imgs, 2, 5).flatten()
for ax, label in zip(axes, batch.label[0][0:10]):
    d2l.show_bboxes(ax, [label[0][1:5] * edge_size], colors=['w'])
../_images/chapter_computer-vision_object-detection-dataset_7_0.png

9.6.4. 小结

  • 合成的皮卡丘数据集可用于测试目标检测模型。
  • 目标检测的数据读取跟图像分类的类似。然而,在引入边界框后,标签形状和图像增广(如随机裁剪)发生了变化。

9.6.5. 练习

  • 查阅MXNet文档,image.ImageDetIterimage.CreateDetAugmenter这两个类的构造函数有哪些参数?它们的意义是什么?

9.6.6. 扫码直达讨论区

image0

9.6.7. 参考文献

[1] im2rec工具。https://github.com/apache/incubator-mxnet/blob/master/tools/im2rec.py

[2] GluonCV 工具包。https://gluon-cv.mxnet.io/

13.6. The Object Detection Dataset (Pikachu)

There are no small datasets, like MNIST or Fashion-MNIST, in the object detection field. In order to quickly test models, we are going to assemble a small dataset. First, we generate 1000 Pikachu images of different angles and sizes using an open source 3D Pikachu model. Then, we collect a series of background images and place a Pikachu image at a random position on each image. We use the im2rec tool provided by MXNet to convert the images to binary RecordIO format[1]. This format can reduce the storage overhead of the dataset on the disk and improve the reading efficiency. If you want to learn more about how to read images, refer to the documentation for the GluonCV Toolkit.

13.6.1. Downloading the Dataset

The Pikachu dataset in RecordIO format can be downloaded directly from the Internet. The operation for downloading the dataset is defined in the function _download_pikachu.

%matplotlib inline
import d2l
from mxnet import gluon, image, np, npx
import os

npx.set_np()

# Saved in the d2l package for later use
def download_pikachu(data_dir):
    root_url = ('https://apache-mxnet.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/'
                'gluon/dataset/pikachu/')
    dataset = {'train.rec': 'e6bcb6ffba1ac04ff8a9b1115e650af56ee969c8',
               'train.idx': 'dcf7318b2602c06428b9988470c731621716c393',
               'val.rec': 'd6c33f799b4d058e82f2cb5bd9a976f69d72d520'}
    for k, v in dataset.items():
        gluon.utils.download(
            root_url + k, os.path.join(data_dir, k), sha1_hash=v)

13.6.2. Reading the Dataset

We are going to read the object detection dataset by creating the instance ImageDetIter. The “Det” in the name refers to Detection. We will read the training dataset in random order. Since the format of the dataset is RecordIO, we need the image index file 'train.idx' to read random minibatches. In addition, for each image of the training set, we will use random cropping and require the cropped image to cover at least 95% of each object. Since the cropping is random, this requirement is not always satisfied. We preset the maximum number of random cropping attempts to 200. If none of them meets the requirement, the image will not be cropped. To ensure the certainty of the output, we will not randomly crop the images in the test dataset. We also do not need to read the test dataset in random order.

# Saved in the d2l package for later use
def load_data_pikachu(batch_size, edge_size=256):
    """Load the pikachu dataset"""
    data_dir = '../data/pikachu'
    download_pikachu(data_dir)
    train_iter = image.ImageDetIter(
        path_imgrec=os.path.join(data_dir, 'train.rec'),
        path_imgidx=os.path.join(data_dir, 'train.idx'),
        batch_size=batch_size,
        data_shape=(3, edge_size, edge_size),  # The shape of the output image
        shuffle=True,  # Read the dataset in random order
        rand_crop=1,  # The probability of random cropping is 1
        min_object_covered=0.95, max_attempts=200)
    val_iter = image.ImageDetIter(
        path_imgrec=os.path.join(data_dir, 'val.rec'), batch_size=batch_size,
        data_shape=(3, edge_size, edge_size), shuffle=False)
    return train_iter, val_iter

Below, we read a minibatch and print the shape of the image and label. The shape of the image is the same as in the previous experiment (batch size, number of channels, height, width). The shape of the label is (batch size, \(m\), 5), where \(m\) is equal to the maximum number of bounding boxes contained in a single image in the dataset. Although computation for the minibatch is very efficient, it requires each image to contain the same number of bounding boxes so that they can be placed in the same batch. Since each image may have a different number of bounding boxes, we can add illegal bounding boxes to images that have less than \(m\) bounding boxes until each image contains \(m\) bounding boxes. Thus, we can read a minibatch of images each time. The label of each bounding box in the image is represented by an array of length 5. The first element in the array is the category of the object contained in the bounding box. When the value is -1, the bounding box is an illegal bounding box for filling purpose. The remaining four elements of the array represent the \(x, y\) axis coordinates of the upper-left corner of the bounding box and the \(x, y\) axis coordinates of the lower-right corner of the bounding box (the value range is between 0 and 1). The Pikachu dataset here has only one bounding box per image, so \(m=1\).

batch_size, edge_size = 32, 256
train_iter, _ = load_data_pikachu(batch_size, edge_size)
batch = train_iter.next()
batch.data[0].shape, batch.label[0].shape
Downloading ../data/pikachu/train.rec from https://apache-mxnet.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/gluon/dataset/pikachu/train.rec...
Downloading ../data/pikachu/train.idx from https://apache-mxnet.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/gluon/dataset/pikachu/train.idx...
Downloading ../data/pikachu/val.rec from https://apache-mxnet.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/gluon/dataset/pikachu/val.rec...
((32, 3, 256, 256), (32, 1, 5))

13.6.3. Demonstration

We have ten images with bounding boxes on them. We can see that the angle, size, and position of Pikachu are different in each image. Of course, this is a simple artificial dataset. In actual practice, the data are usually much more complicated.

imgs = (batch.data[0][0:10].transpose(0, 2, 3, 1)) / 255
axes = d2l.show_images(imgs, 2, 5, scale=2)
for ax, label in zip(axes, batch.label[0][0:10]):
    d2l.show_bboxes(ax, [label[0][1:5] * edge_size], colors=['w'])
../_images/output_object-detection-dataset_42a473_7_0.png

13.6.4. Summary

  • The Pikachu dataset we synthesized can be used to test object detection models.

  • The data reading for object detection is similar to that for image classification. However, after we introduce bounding boxes, the label shape and image augmentation (e.g., random cropping) are changed.

13.6.5. Exercises

  1. Referring to the MXNet documentation, what are the parameters for the constructors of the image.ImageDetIter and image.CreateDetAugmenter classes? What is their significance?

13.6.6. Discussions

image0